Phra Narai Ratchaniwet
About Phra Narai Ratchaniwet
This palace was built by King Narai with the help of french architects and displays an interesting blend of European, Thai and Khmer influences in its design. It took 12 years to build the palace which was finally completed in 1677. However, after serving for King Petracha's coronation when King Narai died in 1688, the temple was essentially abandoned, and wasn't restored until the mid-19th century. The palace grounds are spacious and well-maintained with beautiful trees planted in and around its numerous buildings and structures. The main pavilion (Suttha Sawan) is in the center of the grounds. Other structures and ruins include the palace's main gate (Pratu Phayakkha), the royal reception hall, the Phra Chao Hao (a Buddhist shrine that likely housed an important Buddha image back in the day) and the ruined remains of the king's elephant stables. The grounds also hold a palace reservoir.
This palace's main entrance is on the west side of Thanon Sorasak just south of Thanon Ratchadamnoen in Lopburi's downtown area. It is within walking distance of all downtown Lopburi attractions and is about 400 meters northwest of the train station.